Sterility
Sterility

Anatomy

The reproductive tract of the woman responsible for the production of eggs, the implantation of the fertilized egg and the developing embryo and fetus until birth. The main bodies involved in these phenomena are the vagina , uterus, fallopian tubes and ovaries.

THE OVARIAN

The ovaries are the female sex glands. Small , about the size of an almond , they are located in the pelvis on each side of the abdominal cavity. They are connected to the uterus and fallopian tubes by the utero-ovarian ligaments and have two main functions: the production of egg and hormone secretion .

The ovaries contain many follicles predetermined amount from birth , called De Graaf follicles , each containing an egg during maturation . The follicle ruptures at the surface of the ovary releases an egg in it, it’s ovulation. The egg then enters the fallopian tube. If fertilization, De Graaf follicle becomes the corpus luteum. Otherwise , the follicle atrophy and leaves a white scar. During each menstrual cycle, the egg leaves the ovary , through a tube and reaches the uterus. If it is fertilized by a sperm , it was the beginning of pregnancy , if the cycle ends with the onset of menstruation .

The egg is smaller than the head of a pin female, single cell . Since its birth, the ovaries of a little girl already contain the eggs she will produce during her lifetime. This is from puberty, once a month an egg matures and is released from the ovary .

The ovaries secrete estrogen and progesterone. They play a critical role both in the development of secondary sexual characteristics , such as breasts and the feminine aspect of the figure, in the menstrual cycle and fertilization. These are their variations during the cycle that affect ovulation as well as the arrival of the rules. Their dosage gives a fairly accurate idea of ​​the ovarian reserve .

UTERUS

The uterus muscle is a hollow pink pear shaped weighing about 100g . It is lined by endometrial mucosa whose thickness varies over the cycle . Its lower part and narrower is called cervix . In the middle, the neck is provided with an opening communicating the uterine cavity with the vagina . Cervical canal that follows the uterine cavity is lined with a mucous membrane rich in the mucus secreting glands that facilitates sperm mounted at the time of ovulation .

VAGINA

The vagina is a channel for communicating with the internal genitalia vulva, external genitalia . Long centimeters from July to October , its muscle and fibrous walls are able to expand significantly during childbirth.

Causes

Modern life

You should know that food dieting and eating disorders have a negative impact on the quality of ovulation. Alcohol and tobacco are also not good press.
Professional reasons and constraints of modern life are also a significant cause . If contraception has the last 30 years to split the desire and fertility, many women continue to think they can have a child when they want what age do sometimes leave the ravages of the ovaries especially after 35 years or fertility drops significantly . As a child is when you can .

Abnormalities of ovulation

They are the most common cause of infertility . When ovulation does not exist , it is called anovulation. If it exists but poor quality , it is called dysovulation . Oocytes are in this case little or no fertilized . In these cases one finds many abnormalities associated with a dysfunction of the pituitary or hypothalamus . But the most common of them are the poly cystic ovaries or ovarian dystrophies representing Morocco in the first cause of anovulation dysovulation see . It is a pathology or woman often has a widely spaced rules ( spaniomenorrhea ) see no periods (amenorrhea ) with a tendency to obesity and excess hair (hyper trichose ) . Sometimes symptoms are gathered separately.

Abnormalities of the fallopian tubes

They are responsible for about 30 % of female infertility and are often related to infectious causes have sometimes evolved low noise. They can also be the cause of ectopic pregnancy . However, it only takes one wrong good for a pregnancy can occur spontaneously.

Endometriosis

Defined by the presence of fragments of uterine lining outside their place of origin . This lining can be placed in the ovary, fallopian , peritoneal cavity , etc. . It can block the fallopian tubes or shrink as it can give ovarian cysts or adhesions. 50-60 % of women with endometriosis have difficulty conceiving .

The cervical

Sometimes the collar instead of opening during the period of ovulation, it is closed either congenitally ( malformation ) or the result of trauma ( curettage , aspiration, birth trauma ..) preventing the ascent of sperm , thus creating a barrier or mechanical ( synechiae or adhesions ) is related to an abnormal cervical mucus normally under the influence of hormones during ovulation becomes fluid and permeable to facilitate the passage of sperm into the uterus . This anomaly can be quantitative (decrease ) or qualitative (infection, presence of anti sperm antibodies).

The uterus

It can be challenged by the presence of improper lining for implantation , including the presence of synechiae ( adhesions between the two walls of the cavity ), or infection ( chronic endometritis ) .

Immune factors

Their role in infertility is often cited but remains uncertain. In any case, their detection is difficult at this day.

Idiopathic infertility

It is defined by the absence of obvious causes despite the performance of any battery of additional tests . Their number is reduced day by day , however we know that we must be more aggressive in their care .

Explorations

You should know that the panel explorations of infertility is quite large and should be undertaken in a systematic taking into account the medical history of the couple, the length of infertility , age of the patient and the suspected cause the questioning and examination .

a – The temperature curve

It is to ask the woman to take her temperature every morning before waking up, and annotate on a curve issued by the doctor by scoring all intercurrent events ( fever, flu , day rules ..) for a period average of 3 months .

This curve can give us some information on the existence of ovulation , duration of heat plateau after ovulation and the day of ovulation possible . However, this method is quite restrictive and is often biased by events that come distort the result and make its interpretation difficult .

b – Hysterosalpingography

It is an essential radiological examination to visualize the inside of the uterine cavity and especially to verify the integrity of the tubes granny that gives an idea of ​​the possible existence of adhesions distorting the anatomical relationships pelvis.

Why ?
It can discover :

– A malformation of the uterus with fibroids ;

– A synechia is a joining of the fibrous wall of the uterus , usually observed after infection or curettage ;

– A gaping neck can cause miscarriages or otherwise blocked by a large polyp or synechia ;

– Abnormalities of the fallopian tubes blocked, an altered mucosal , or endometriosis ;

– The review can turn into care. It happens that the pressure exerted by the rise of radio -opaque liquid opens a trunk .

c – The hysteroscopy

It is an exploration of the uterine cavity . This test is often used in addition to hysterosalpingography .

Why ?
– This exam will take biopsies in lesions , especially if there is a chronic infection.
– Hysteroscopy is also used for curative purposes . It is used to remove a small polyp or synechiae .

d – Hormone assays

They fall within the broad field of endocrinology . The assays are performed on samples of blood and urine study hormone production of the ovaries , pituitary , hypothalamus and thyroid .

Why ?
They are often required when there is an ovulation disorder visible on the temperature curve , and to place the responsibility of disorder or abnormality on ultrasound including small ovaries or ovarian appearance of polypeptide

e – The karyotype

It is the study of abnormalities on the number and structure of chromosomes located in the nucleus of cells .

Why ?
The woman may be unknowingly carrying a genetic defect that would lead to sterility.

f – The ultrasound

It is a simple painless test , widely used in gynecology.

Why ?
– It reveals a uterine or ovarian abnormality ( fibroid polyp) .
– It determines the size and number of ovarian follicles and the appearance of the endometrium.
– It is used both for diagnosis and for monitoring the effectiveness of certain treatments.
As we will see later , ultrasound is essential in the induction of ovulation treatment, and at the time of egg retrieval for IVF -ETE .

g – Endometrial biopsy

The endometrial lining of the uterus , the structure varies according to the portion of the cycle and hormonal impregnation

Why ?
– The biopsy to assess the hormonal impregnation and quality of ovulation.
– It allows the other to make a bacteriological analysis in search of a latent infection.

h – Laparoscopy

Laparoscopy occurs when problems are obvious mistake . It allows you to decide whether to move to in vitro fertilization or when a disease such as endometriosis is suspected.
This examination is carried out as a last resort because it is a surgical procedure . Laparoscopy can be both diagnostic and curative action .

Why ?
To see perfectly the uterus, ovaries, fallopian tubes and the peritoneal cavity an accurate diagnosis .
But also to check tubal patency , that is to say, make sure the tube is able to drag , move the egg properly and at the right speed .

Anatomy

The organs of the male reproductive system involved in the development of the various components of the sperm and its transmission are multiple: the tests, epididymis, vas deferens, seminal vesicles, ejaculatory ducts, prostate and penis.

THE PENIS OR VERGE

The penis is genital human characteristic . It consists of two corpora cavernosa and the corpus spongiosum before back. This sponge body is penetrated through the urethra , which channel is used both for the passage of urine and semen .

TESTIS

Two in number , variable in size , they are the site of sperm production . They are located within the exchanges, known as scrotum. The sperm is a tiny cell that can move. It consists of three parts: the head , the body and the flagellum. The head contains the acrosome , a reserve of enzymes that can penetrate the wall of the oocyte nucleus and containing all genetic information , the body contains the useful energy to the displacement . As the flagellum , he waves to move better .

EPIDIDYMIS AND VAS DEFERENS

These channels allow the ejaculate contains sperm from the testicle to pass the region of the prostate. They allow the sperm to complete their maturation by providing various biochemical constituents that increase their ability to fertilize.

PROSTATE AND SEMINAL VESICLES

When the sperm reaches the prostate , there come the end of the seminal vesicles during his career, he was charged with additional components from the prostate (citrate , acid phosphatase , zinc) and seminal vesicles (fructose ) involved them also the quality of the final sperm fertilizing

URETHRA

This channel through the penis and allows the transport of sperm in the prostate terminal orifice of the penis, called meatus , which is located at the tip of the glans .

Causes

Man today shares the same responsibility as the woman in the causes of infertility.

In all cases regardless of the “responsible” , the role of two partners is imperative to the success of their expectations.

 a – Azoospermia :

It is defined by the absence of sperm in the ejaculate . Under these conditions, it is best to have the same results on two different samples because of the large variations in human semen during his lifetime. In these cases there are two cases:

– It is no secret ion sperm , causing an inability to procreate. This may be due to the destruction of their testicles not descending at birth or by trauma or disease. In these cases infertility is often permanent because the chances of finding sperm are exceptional. Sometimes it is a hormonal problem, which means that the pituitary gland stimulates the testicles. In these cases hormone therapy can be effective .

– Sperm are produced, but stuck in the excretory ducts (excretory azoospermia). This can be linked to a sequel of genital infection untreated or after surgery of urogenital area .

b – Oligo-asthenospermies :

From far the most common , and include different aspects.

– The Teratospermia : defined by the presence of too many abnormal sperm. These abnormalities are often due to a dysfunction of spermatogenesis and can cover all parts of the sperm. For a sperm to be fertile, it takes 20  to 50%  ‘good’ sperm. The necrospermie it is defined by more than 50% often died from infections sperm.

– Oligospermia : if in general there are 20 to 100 million sperm per milliliter of semen, by their number is less than 20 million.

– The asthenospermia : This is a mobility problem. In general more than 50 % of sperm are moving after an hour of ejaculation, below this threshold we talk about asthenospermia. In these cases the varicocele is often responsible (abnormal dilation of the veins scholarships in the form of varicose veins that are palpable).

– The environment : stress , alcohol , tobacco , certain medications can affect the sperm . As high fever, severe illness as well as being overweight increase the risk of infertility.

Explorations

You should know that the panel explorations of infertility is quite large and should be undertaken in a systematic taking into account the medical history of the couple, the length of infertility , age of the patient and the suspected cause the questioning and examination .

a – The sperm

The semen analysis sperm quality . This is probably the most requested review and the most important search for causes of male infertility .

Why ?

To count the number of sperm to assess the proportion of those who move (mobility) , for their ability to move forward and quantify the proportion of normal spermatozoa.

Consistency and the total volume of ejaculation is measured as an abnormally low volume suggests a predisposition to infertility.

A dosage of sugar in semen is made because the sperm are big energy consumers.

If the sperm appears infected, a semen culture will be asked to identify the infection.

b – The hormone assays

Assays will be prescribed if the semen analysis is unsatisfactory.

Why ?

As for the woman , and the purpose to study the different stages of endocrinological male fertility. Testosterone is the hormone that stimulates the development of male characteristics and , as in women , the hormones of the pituitary and the hypothalamus will be determined.

 c – The karyotype

The karyotype is used to study anomalies in the number and structure of chromosomes, genetic capital located in the cell nucleus.

d – The testicular biopsy

Rarely required , it is done only to know whether treatment is reasonable to consider .

e – Doppler and thermography

Both tests exploring the circulation of blood.

– Doppler to measure the speed of blood flow to highlight a narrowing or abnormal dilation of blood vessels .

– A thermography can dilate slow blood flow plates of liquid crystal varies depending on the color temperature of the skin , which is then hot or no blood flows . .

f – The ultrasound

With this painless examination , a search effusions or obstacles in the excretory tract . It explores the testes , prostate, blood vessels.

g – Deferentography

This is an X-ray performed under general anesthesia , which studies the excretory ducts to repair any obstacle and make a surgical decision .

The list of tests is probably not exhaustive, this is the most requested . In all cases , only your medical team is able to prescribe a balance when it considers it appropriate , when it is needed, it is necessary only to you and only you .

Stérilités
Stérilités

Anatomie

L’appareil reproducteur de la femme assure la production d’ovules,  l’implantation de l’œuf fécondé et le développement de l’embryon puis du fœtus jusqu’à la naissance.  Les principaux organes intervenant dans ces phénomènes sont le vagin,  l’utérus,  les trompes de Fallope et les ovaires.  

LES OVAIRES

Les ovaires sont les glandes sexuelles féminines.  Petits,  de la taille d’une amande,  ils sont situés dans le petit bassin,  de chaque côté de la cavité abdominale.  Ils sont reliés à l’utérus et aux trompes de Fallope par les ligaments utéro-ovariens et ont deux fonctions principales : la production d’ovule et la sécrétion d’hormones. 

Les ovaires contiennent un grand nombre de follicules en quantité prédéfinie dès la naissance,  appelés les follicules De Graaf,  contenant chacun un ovule en cours de maturation.  Le follicule se rompt à la surface de l’ovaire,  libérant l’ovule qu’il contient,  c’est l’ovulation.  L’œuf pénètre ensuite dans la trompe de Fallope.  En cas de fécondation,  le follicule De Graaf se transforme en corps jaune.  Dans le cas contraire,  le follicule s’atrophie et laisse une cicatrice blanche.  Au cours de chaque  cycle menstruel,  un ovule quitte un ovaire,  traverse une trompe et parvient à l’utérus.  S’il est fécondé  par un spermatozoïde,  c’est alors le début d’une grossesse,  sinon le cycle se termine par l’apparition des règles.

L’ovule est une cellule femelle,  unique,  plus petit que la pointe d’une épingle.  Dès sa naissance,  les ovaires d’une petite fille contiennent déjà les ovules qu’elle produira durant sa vie.  C’est à partir de la puberté,  qu’une fois par mois un ovule arrive à maturation et est expulsé de l’ovaire.   

Les ovaires sécrètent les œstrogènes et la progestérone.  Celles-ci jouent un rôle essentiel tant dans le développement des caractères sexuels secondaires,  notamment les seins et l’aspect féminin de la silhouette,  que dans le cycle menstruel et la fécondation.  Ce sont leurs variations durant le cycle qui conditionnent l’ovulation de même que l’arrivée des règles.  Leur dosage donne une idée assez précise de la réserve ovarienne.

L’UTERUS

L’utérus et un muscle creux ,rose, en forme de poire pesant environ 100g.  Il est tapissé par l’endomètre,  muqueuse dont l’épaisseur varie au cours du cycle.  Sa partie inférieure,  plus étroite,  est appelée col de l’utérus.  En son milieu,  le col est percé d’un orifice faisant communiquer la cavité utérine avec le vagin.  Le canal cervical qui fait suite à la cavité utérine est tapissé d’une muqueuse très riche en glandes sécrétant la glaire cervicale qui facilite la montée des spermatozoïdes lors de la période de l’ovulation. 

LE VAGIN   

Le vagin est un canal par lequel communiquent les organes génitaux internes avec la vulve,  organe génital externe.  Long de 7 à 10 centimètres,  ses parois musculaires  et fibreuses sont capables de se dilater de façon considérable pendant l’accouchement.

Causes

La vie moderne

Il faut savoir que les régimes alimentaires à répétition et les troubles alimentaires ont une répercussion négative sur la qualité de l’ovulation.  L’alcool et le tabac n’ont pas non plus bonne presse.
Les raisons professionnelles et les contraintes de la vie moderne sont aussi une cause non négligeable.  Si la contraception a permis ces 30 dernières années de scinder le désir et la fécondité,  beaucoup de femmes continuent à penser qu’elles peuvent avoir un enfant quand elles veulent ce qui laisse parfois l’âge faire ces ravages sur les ovaires notamment après 35ans ou la fertilité baisse de manière significative.  Aussi un enfant se fait quand on peut.

Les anomalies de l’ovulation

Elles constituent la cause la plus fréquente de l’infertilité.  Quand l’ovulation est inexistante,  on parle d’anovulation.  Si elle existe mais de mauvaise de qualité,  on parle de dysovulation.  Les ovocytes sont dans ce cas peu ou non fécondables.  Dans ces cas on retrouve beaucoup d’anomalies liées à un dysfonctionnement de l’hypophyse ou de l’hypothalamus.  Mais les plus fréquentes d’entre elles restent les ovaires poly kystiques ou dystrophies ovariennes qui représentent au Maroc la 1ere cause de dysovulation voir d’anovulation.  Il s’agit d’une pathologie ou la femme a souvent une des règles très espacées (spanioménorrhée) voir pas de règles (aménorrhée) avec une tendance à l’obésité et une pilosité en excès (hyper trichose).  Parfois sont symptômes sont retrouvés séparément.

Les anomalies des trompes

Elles sont responsables d’environ 30% des infertilités féminines et sont liées à des causes souvent infectieuses ayant évolué parfois à bas bruit.  Elles peuvent aussi être à l’origine de grossesses extra utérines.  Toutefois il suffit d’une seule trompe de bonne qualité pour qu’une grossesse puisse survenir spontanément.

L’endométriose

Définies par la présence de fragments de muqueuse utérine en dehors de leur place d’origine.  Cette muqueuse peut se placer dans l’ovaire,  les trompes,  la cavité péritonéale,  etc.  Elle peut obstruer ou rétrécir les trompes comme elle peut donner des kystes de l’ovaire ou des adhérences.
50 à 60% des femmes souffrant d’une endométriose ont des difficultés à concevoir.

Le col de l’utérus

Il arrive parfois que le col au lieu de s’ouvrir durant la période d’ovulation, il reste fermé soit de façon congénitale (malformation) ou à la suite d’un traumatisme (curetage,  aspiration,  traumatisme obstétrical.. ) empêchant l’ascension des spermatozoïdes,  créant ainsi un obstacle soit mécanique (synéchies ou adhérences ) soit lié à une anomalie de la glaire cervicale qui normalement sous l’effet des hormones lors de l’ovulation devient fluide et perméable facilitant le passage des spermatozoïdes dans l’utérus.  Cette anomalie peut être quantitative (diminution) voire qualitative (infection,  présence d’anticorps anti spermatozoïdes).

L’utérus

Il peut être mis en cause par la présence d’une muqueuse impropre à la nidation,  notamment par la présence de synéchies (adhérences entre les 2 parois de la cavité),  voire d’infection (endométrites chroniques).

Les facteurs immunitaires

Leur rôle dans l’infertilité est souvent cité mais reste incertain.  En tout cas,  leur mise en évidence est à ce jour difficile.

L’infertilité idiopathique

Elle est définie par l’absence de causes évidentes malgré la réalisation de toute la batterie d’examens complémentaires.  Leur nombre se réduit de jour en jour,  néanmoins l’on sait qu’il faut être plus agressif dans leur prise en charge. 

Explorations

Il faut savoir que le panel des explorations des infertilités est assez large et doit être entrepris de façon systématisée tenant compte du passé médical du couple,  de l’ancienneté de l’infertilité,  de l’âge de la patiente ainsi que de la cause suspectée à l’interrogatoire et à l’examen.

a – La courbe de température

Elle consiste à demander à la femme de prendre sa température tous les matins avant le réveil,  et de l’annoter sur une courbe délivrée par le médecin en marquant tous les évènements intercurrents (fièvre,  grippe,  jour des règles..) durant une période moyenne de 3mois.

Cette courbe peut nous donner certaines informations sur l’existence d’une ovulation,  la durée du plateau thermique après ovulation ainsi que le jour d’ovulation éventuel.  Toutefois,  cette méthode est assez contraignante et est souvent biaisée par des évènements qui viennent fausser le résultat et rendre son interprétation délicate.

b – L’hystérosalpingographie

Il s’agit d’un examen radiologique essentiel qui permet de visualiser l’intérieur de la cavité utérine et surtout de vérifier l’intégrité des trompes de mémé qu’il donne une idée sur l’existence éventuelle d’adhérences déformant les rapports anatomiques du pelvis.

Pourquoi ?    
Elle permet de découvrir :

– Une malformation de la cavité utérine avec la présence de fibromes ;

– Une synéchie  qui est un accolement fibreux des parois de l’utérus,  observée en général après une infection ou un curetage ;

– Un col béant pouvant être à l’origine de fausses couches ou au contraire obturé par un gros polype ou une synéchie ;

– Des anomalies des trompes obstruées,  une muqueuses altérée,  ou encore une endométriose ;

– L’examen peut se transformer en soin.  Il arrive en effet que la pression exercée par la montée du liquide radio- opaque débouche une trompe.

c – L’hystéroscopie

C’est une exploration de la cavité utérine.  Cet examen est souvent prescrit en complément de l’hystérosalpingographie.

Pourquoi ?
– Cet examen permet de faire des biopsies au niveau des lésions,  surtout un s’il existe une infection chronique.
– L’hystéroscopie est aussi utilisée dans un but curatif.  Elle sert à enlever une synéchie ou un petit polype.

d – Les dosages hormonaux

Ils relèvent du domaine très large de l’endocrinologie.  Les dosages s’effectuent à partir de prélèvements de sang et d’urine pour étudier la production hormonale des ovaires,  de l’hypophyse,  de l’hypothalamus et de la thyroïde.  

Pourquoi ? 
Ils sont souvent demandés lorsqu’il y a un trouble de l’ovulation visible sur la courbe de température, et permettant de situer le responsable de désordre ou une anomalie à l’échographie notamment de petits ovaires ou un aspect d’ovaires polypeptidiques

e – Le caryotype

C’est l’étude des anomalies concernant le nombre et la structure des chromosomes,  situés dans le noyau des cellules.

Pourquoi ? 
La femme peut être,  sans le savoir,  porteuse d’une anomalie génétique qui entraînerait une stérilité.

f – L’échographie

Il s’agit d’un examen simple,  indolore,  largement utilisé en gynécologie.

Pourquoi ?   
– Elle permet de révéler une anomalie utérine ou ovarienne (fibrome,  polype).
– Elle détermine la taille et le nombre de follicules ovariens et de l’aspect de l’endomètre.
– Elle est utilisée tant pour le diagnostic que pour le suivi de l’efficacité de certains traitements.
Comme nous le verrons plus loin,  l’échographie est indispensable lors du traitement inducteur d’ovulation,  ainsi qu’au moment de la ponction ovarienne pour la FIV- ETE.

g – Biopsie de l’endomètre

L’endomètre est la muqueuse interne de l’utérus dont la structure varie en fonction de la partie du cycle et de l’imprégnation hormonale

Pourquoi ?
– La biopsie permet d’évaluer l’imprégnation hormonale et la qualité de l’ovulation.
– Elle permet d’autre part de faire une analyse bactériologique à la recherche d’une infection latente.

h – La cœlioscopie 

La cœlioscopie intervient quand des problèmes de trompe sont    évidents. Elle permet de décider s’il faut passer à la fécondation in vitro ou quand on suspecte une pathologie telle que l’endométriose.
Cet examen est effectué en dernier recours car il s’agit d’un acte chirurgical.  La cœlioscopie peut être à la fois un geste diagnostic et curatif.

Pourquoi ?
Pour voir parfaitement l’utérus,  les ovaires,  les trompes et la cavité péritonéale et établir un diagnostic précis.
Mais aussi pour vérifier la perméabilité tubaire,  c’est-à-dire s’assurer que la trompe est capable de faire glisser,  progresser correctement l’ovocyte et à la bonne vitesse.

Anatomie

Les organes de l’appareil génital masculin participant à l’élaboration des différents constituants du sperme et son émission sont multiples : les testicules,  l’épididyme,  les canaux déférents,  les vésicules  séminales,  les canaux éjaculateurs,  la prostate et le pénis.

LE PENIS OU VERGE

Le pénis est l’organe génital caractéristique de l’homme.  Il est constitué par deux corps caverneux en avant et le corps spongieux  en arrière.  Ce corps spongieux est traversé par l’urètre,  canal qui sert à la fois au passage de l’urine et du sperme.  

LES TESTICULES

Au nombre de deux,  de taille variable,  ils sont le lieu de fabrication des spermatozoïdes.  Ils sont situés à l’intérieur des bourses,  appelées aussi scrotum.  Le spermatozoïde est une toute petite cellule capable de se déplacer.  Il se compose de trois parties : la tête,  le corps et le flagelle.  La tête contient l’acrosome,  une réserve d’enzymes qui permettent de perforer la paroi de l’ovule et le noyau contenant toutes les informations génétiques,  le corps contient l’énergie utile au déplacement.  Quant au flagelle,  il ondule  pour mieux se mouvoir.  

L’EPIDIDYME ET LE CANAL DEFERENT

Ces canaux permettent à l’éjaculât contenant les spermatozoïdes de passer du testicule à la région de la prostate.  Ils permettent aux spermatozoïdes de compléter leurs maturations en leur apportant différentes constituantes biochimiques qui augmentent leur capacité à féconder.

LA PROSTATE ET LES VESICULES SEMINALES

Lorsque le sperme atteint la prostate,  il y rejoint la partie terminale des vésicules séminales pendant son parcours,  il s’est chargé de composants supplémentaires  issus de la prostate (citrate,  phosphatases acides,  zinc) et des vésicules séminales (fructose) qui participent eux aussi à la qualité fécondante du sperme final.  

L’URETRE

Ce canal traverse le pénis et permet le transport du sperme de la prostate à l’orifice terminal du pénis,  appelé méat,  qui est situé à l’extrémité du gland.  

Causes

L’homme partage aujourd’hui la même part de responsabilité que la femme dans les causes d’infertilité.

Dans tous les cas quel que soit le « responsable », le rôle des 2partenaires est impératif dans le succès de leurs attentes.

 a – L’azoospermie : 

Elle se définit par l’absence de spermatozoïdes dans l’éjaculât. Dans ces conditions,  il est préférable d’avoir les mêmes résultats sur deux prélèvements différents étant donné les grandes variations du sperme de l’homme durant sa vie.  Dans ces cas il existe deux cas de figure :

– Il n’existe pas de secret ion de spermatozoïdes, ce qui entraîne une impossibilité de procréer.  Ceci peut être dû à la destruction des testicules par leur non descente à la naissance,  soit par un traumatisme ou une maladie.  Dans ces cas la stérilité est souvent définitive car les chances de trouver des spermatozoïdes sont exceptionnelles.  Des fois, il s’agit d’un problème hormonal, ce qui signifie que l’hypophyse ne stimule les testicules.  Dans ces cas un traitement hormonal peut se révéler efficace.

– Les spermatozoïdes sont fabriqués,  mais restent bloqués dans les canaux excréteurs (azoospermie excrétoire). Cela peut être lie à une séquelle d’infection génitale non traitée ou après une intervention chirurgicale de la zone uro-génitale.

b – Les oligo-asthénospermies :

De loin les plus fréquentes,  et regroupent différents aspects.

– La teratospermie : définie par la présence de trop nombreux spermatozoïdes anormaux.  Ces anomalies sont souvent dues à un dysfonctionnement de la spermatogenèse et peuvent concerner toutes les parties du spermatozoïde. Pour qu’un sperme soit fertile,  il faut 20 à50% de « bons » spermatozoïdes. La necrospermie est-elle définie par plus de 50% de spermatozoïdes morts souvent suite à des infections. 

– L’oligospermie : si en général on compte 20 à 100 millions de spermatozoïdes par millilitre de sperme,  ici leur nombre est inférieur à 20 millions.

– L’asthénospermie : C’est un problème de mobilité.  En général plus de  50% des spermatozoïdes  sont mobiles après une heure d’éjaculation,  en dessous de ce seuil on parle d’asthénospermie.  Dans ces cas la varicocèle est souvent responsable (dilatation anormale des veines des bourses  sous la forme de varices qui sont palpables).

– L’environnement : le stress,  l’alcool, le tabac, certains médicaments peuvent altérer le spermogramme. Aussi de fortes fièvres, des maladies graves de même que la surcharge pondérale accroissent le risque d’infertilité. 

Explorations

Il faut savoir que le panel des explorations des infertilités est assez large et doit être entrepris de façon systématisée tenant compte du passé médical du couple, de l’ancienneté de l’infertilité, de l’âge de la patiente ainsi que de la cause suspectée à l’interrogatoire et à l’examen.

a – Le spermogramme

Le spermogramme analyse la qualité du sperme. C’est sans doute  l’examen le plus demandé  et le plus important pour rechercher les causes d’infertilité masculine.

Pourquoi ?

Pour compter le nombre de spermatozoïdes, pour évaluer la proportion de ceux qui bougent (mobilité), pour connaître leur capacité à se déplacer vers l’avant et quantifier la proportion de spermatozoïdes normaux.

On mesure la consistance et le volume total de l’éjaculation, car un volume anormalement faible laisse supposer une prédisposition à l’infertilité.

Un dosage de sucre dans le sperme est réalisé Car les spermatozoïdes sont de gros consommateurs d’énergie.

Si le sperme paraît infecté, une spermoculture sera demandé pour identifier l’infection.  

b – Les dosages hormonaux

Les dosages ne seront prescrits que si le spermogramme est insatisfaisant.

Pourquoi ?

Comme pour la femme, le but et d’étudier les différentes étapes endocrinologiques  de la fertilité masculine. La testostérone  est l’hormone qui stimule le développement des caractères masculins et, comme chez la femme, les hormones de l’hypophyse et de l’hypothalamus seront dosées.

 c – Le caryotype

Le caryotype permet d’étudier les anomalies du nombre et de la structure des chromosomes, capital génétique situé dans le noyau des cellules.

d -La biopsie testiculaire

Rarement prescrite, elle se pratique seulement pour savoir si un traitement peut raisonnablement s’envisager.

e – Le doppler et la thermographie

Ces deux examens explorent la circulation du sang.

– Le doppler permet de mesurer la vitesse du flux sanguin afin de mettre en évidence un rétrécissement ou une dilatation anormale des vaisseaux.

– La thermographie peut dilater un ralentissement du flux sanguin .des plaques de cristaux liquides varient de couleur en fonction de la température de la peau, qui est plus chaude là ou  sans le sang circule.

f – L’échographie

Grâce à cet examen totalement indolore, on  recherche des épanchements ou des obstacles sur les voies excrétrices. On explore les testicules, la prostate, les vaisseaux.  

g – La déférentographie

Il s’agit d’une radiographie, réalisée sous anesthésie générale, qui étudie les canaux excréteurs afin de réparer un éventuel obstacle et prendre une décision chirurgicale.

La liste des examens n’est probablement pas exhaustive, il s’agit là des plus demandés. Dans tous les cas, seule votre équipe médicale est apte à vous prescrire un bilan quand elle le juge opportun, au moment où il le faut, seulement s’il est nécessaire à vous et à vous seul.